CalBRE Sponsor No. S0088
Salesperson License: Overview
If you pass the state exam and submit your license paperwork prior to October 1, 2007, you will only need California Real Estate Principles to qualify for a salesperson license.
Starting on October 1, 2007, an applicant for the real estate salesperson examination must show proof of three courses prior to the state exam. Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one other course from a designated list will be required.
The Cook School of Real Estate offers a unique “home-study” program, which includes written textbooks, on-line homework assignments, and on-line final examinations. This combination of textbook reading and on-line assignments has proven to be a superior method of preparing to pass the state salesperson examination. Our program also includes practice tests for the state exam
These complete pre-licenses packages represent our most successful method for passing the state exam on your first try.
Who Must Obtain a Real Estate License?
A Real Estate License is required of individuals who are to be employed as salespersons under the control and supervision of a licensed broker. A license may be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, in this instance, no real estate activity may be performed. The license authorizes real estate activity only if the salesperson is in the employ of a licensed broker. It does not authorize the salesperson to act as an independent agent.
Minimum Requirements to Apply for the Salesperson Examination:
- Age: No restrictions. (However, to apply for a license, you must be 18 years of age or older.)
- Residence: Each applicant must qualify in the appropriate written examination in California and meet all other requirements. Residency in the state is not a requirement to become licensed, but you must be Legally Present In United States.
- Honesty: License applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime which is either a felony or involves moral turpitude may result in the denial of a license. The failure to reveal a criminal conviction on an original license application may also result in the denial of a license.
- Education: Evidence of successful completion of a college-level course in California Real Estate Principles is required. Experience: None required.
There is a $25 test fee required when you apply for the state examination. The license fee, if you have only completed Real Estate Principles, is $145. If, at the time of submitting your license application, you have completed Real Estate Principles PLUS the two additional courses, the fee is $120. There is no additional fee required when you submit the two additional courses within 18 months.
One set of classifiable electronic fingerprints and a fingerprint processing fee are required from every license applicant unless:
Applicant is currently licensed by the DRE or Applicant was licensed by DRE during the past two years.
Effective July 1, 2001 original license applicants who reside in California will pay a $56 fingerprint processing fee directly to the live scan fingerprint service provider. Original license applicants who reside out of state should submit the $56 fingerprint processing fee with their application and license fee.